Polymorph 5e

Withing the cast range, you specify and deform a creature or object that you can see…

What can you polymorph into 5e?


  • Level: 4
  • Casting time: 1 Action
  • Range: 60 feet
  • Components: V, S, M
  • Duration: Concentration, up to 1 hour

How does the Polymorph 5e work?

When casting this Polymorph 5e spell, you specify and deform a creature or object that you can see within the cast range. You can change the target creature into a different creature, or the target creature into an object, or the target object into a creature (the object must not be dressed or carried by any creature).

The transformation effect lasts until the end of the dnd 5e Polymorph spell’s duration, or until the target’s health drops to 0 or the target dies. If you keep the spell focused for the duration of the spell, the transformation lasts forever.

This d&d 5e Polymorph spell has no effect on shapeshifting creatures and targets with 0 health. Creatures that do not want to be transformed can make a Wisdom save, but the success of the save is not affected by the spell.

Biology becomes biological

If you transform a creature into another creature, its new form can be any species you choose to have a challenge level equal to or lower than the subject’s challenge level (or the character’s level if the subject has no challenge level).

The subject’s game information (including the values ​​of each spiritual attribute) will be replaced by the data of the new form, while its alignment and character will remain unchanged.

The target will use the new form of health

When it returns to its normal form, the target’s health also returns to its pre-transformation value. If the target changes back to its normal form because its health has dropped to 0, the normal form takes over the damage.

As long as the overflow damage is not enough to reduce the normal form of health to 0, he will not be comatose.

The behavior that the creature can perform is limited by the characteristics of its new form. Unless the physical characteristics of the new form allow it, the creature cannot speak, cast spells, or perform any actions that require hands and speech.

The target’s equipment is integrated into its new form, and the equipment cannot be activated or held, nor can it benefit from its equipment in any other way.

Objects become creatures

You can turn an object into any creature that meets the following requirements: The volume of the creature cannot be greater than the original object, and the challenge level of the creature must be less than or equal to 9. The transformed creature is friendly to you and your companions.

In battle, it will be your turn, and you decide how to act. The data of this creature is controlled by the DM, and the DM determines the results of its actions.

If the spell becomes permanently effective, you will no longer control the creature. After that, the creature will decide whether to be friendly to you based on how you treat him.

Biological variants

If you transform a creature into an object, it becomes a new form along with its carrying object. The subject’s data becomes the same as the object. After the spell ends and the subject returns to its original shape, it will not remember anything that happened when it became an object.